About the Delivery System Reform Incentive Payment Program

The Delivery System Reform Incentive Payment Program, or DSRIP, is the main mechanism by which New York State is implementing its Medicaid Redesign Team Waiver Amendment. DSRIP seeks to fundamentally restructure the health care delivery system by reinvesting in the Medicaid program, with the primary goal of reducing avoidable hospital use by 25 percent over five years. Up to $6.42 billion dollars are allocated to the New York DSRIP program with payments based on achieving predefined results in system transformation, clinical management, and population health.

DSRIP has five program principles. It is:

Patient centered




Value Driven


In order to participate in DSRIP, providers must work together to form Performing Provider Systems, or PPSs, which are regional entities responsible for the health of the population in their service area. Each PPS is responsible for selecting between five and 10 projects from a specified menu of DSRIP projects and domains. The project selection process was guided by the results of a comprehensive Community Needs Assessment and informed by PPS members and community partners who were engaged throughout the planning process.

Five Years in the Future
DSRIP Year 4: Start a Movement

To learn more, visit the DSRIP page on the New York State Department of Health website.